GUIDELINES FOR THE SELECTION OF THE COURSES

Study fields at ULB

see the list

Selection of courses

Students applying for a stay at ULB within an exchange agreement must select courses from the list of courses organized by the Ecole polytechnique de Bruxelles find more ...
  • most courses are taught in French, but several programs are available in English

  • only the courses in the Bachelor and Master programs (study years 1 to 5) are eligible

  • the courses specific to other programs (i.e. master complémentaire, formation complémentaire, formation continue, ...) are not eligible and may not be selected, ne peuvent pas être choisis, unless there is a prior explicit agreement from the faculty coordinator at ULB

  • the possible selection of courses organized by other faculties is also subject to an explicit agreement on a case by case basis

  • when a course is shared by different faculties, the number of credits in the curriculum of Ecole polytechnique de Bruxelles applies

The selection of courses must be approved by the coordinator at the home institution. The selection must the be sent to Mrs Rose-Marie BRYNAERT  (mail address) for a preliminar check, at least one month before arriving in Brussels. The list of courses could possibly be modified later with the prior consent of the coordinator of studies at the home university and at Ecole polytechnique of ULB.

Level of studies (*)

The selection of a coherent list of courses is easier for students at the "master" level (MA) (*). Ecole polytechnique de Bruxelles encourages exchanges at this level of study. For students at the "bachelor" level, when agreed in the exchange agreement, a coherent course list can be selected only if the stay is for the full academic year.


( * ) BA - MA
the structure "Bachelor-Master" (BA-MA) corresponds to :
BA = study years 1 to 3
MA = study years 4 and 5

Course schedules

The course schedules are available by study field and by professor (  find the link ...). These schedules are subject to change from one academic year to another, but the situation a year is a good first indication for the next year.

The master thesis - Internships

Students who will carry out a master thesis during their stay at ULB (thesis, project or internship) must choose the subject before their arrival in Brussels, with the agreement of a professor at ULB (supevisor) and a professor (co-supervisor) at the home university.


Warning
a student will not be allowed to come to ULB without the prior approval of the subject of his thesis (or project or internship) by a supervisor and a co-supervisor.
 
Language

Courses are taught in French or in English. Students are expected to know enough French and/or English to be able to attend the classes. French courses devoted to foreign students are organized by the "Service de Mobilité Etudiante" to know more ...). Admission to these courses is available from this department.

Marks at the examinations

The marks obtained at examinations on the subjects taken at ULB are sent to the home university and validated for the curriculum of the student.

General information
  • All administrative details are presented on the web site of the "Service de Mobilité Etudiante" : this site also provides access to a brochure with general information see the web site ...).

  • The campus maps are also published on the web see the maps ... ).

Academic information
Mrs Rose-Marie BRYNAERT
email :
mail address

LIGNES DIRECTRICES POUR
L’ETABLISSEMENT D’UN PROGRAMME DE COURS

Filières d'études à l'ULB

voir la liste des filières

Programme de cours


L'étudiant candidat à un séjour à l'ULB dans le cadre d'un programme d'échange doit constituer une proposition de programme sur la base du programme des cours de l'Ecole polytechnique de Bruxelles trouver le lien ...
  • la plupart des cours sont enseignés en français, mais certains programmes sont enseignés totalement en anglais

  • les cours doivent être choisis dans le programme des années d'études de Bachelor et Master (années 1 à 5) exclusivement

  • les cours spécifiques à d'autres programmes d'études (master complémentaire, formation complémentaire, formation continue, ...) ne peuvent pas être choisis, sauf accord préalable explicite du coordinateur académique de la Faculté

  • le choix éventuel de cours dans le programme d'autres facultés est également soumis à un accord explicite au cas par cas

  • lorsqu’un cours est partagé par l'Ecole polytechnique de Bruxelles et une autre faculté, c’est le nombre de crédits ECTS figurant au programme de l'Ecole polytechnique qui doit être pris en compte

Cette proposition doit d’abord être approuvée par le coordinateur des études de l'université d'origine. Elle doit ensuite être envoyée au coordinateur de la Faculté (Mme Rose-Marie BRYNAERT  adresse mail) pour vérification, au moins un mois avant le début du séjour. Le choix des cours pourra éventuellement encore être modifié ultérieurement, moyennant l'accord préalable des coordinateur des études de l'université d'origine et de la Faculté.

Niveau d'études (*)

La constitution d’un programme de cours cohérent est plus simple pour des étudiants de niveau "master" (MA) (*). L'Ecole polytechnique de Bruxelles encourage donc les programmes d’échange à ce niveau d’études. Pour les étudiants de niveau "bachelier" (BA) (*), autorisés par la convention établie avec leur université à effectuer un programme d’échange, un programme de cours cohérent ne pourra être établi que si le séjour porte sur une année académique complète.


( * ) BA - MA
la structure "Bachelier-Master" (BA-MA) correspond à :
BA = années d'études 1 à 3
MA = années d'études 4 et 5

Horaires des cours

Les horaires des cours sont disponibles par filière et par professeur (  trouver le lien ...). Ces horaires peuvent subir des modifications d’une année académique à l’autre, mais la situation d’une année est une bonne première indication.

Le travail de fin d'études - Le mémoire de fin d'études - Le stage de fin d'études

Les étudiants qui, pendant leur séjour à l'ULB, devront effectuer un travail de fin d'études (ou un stage, projet ou mémoire) doivent choisir leur sujet avant leur arrivée à Bruxelles avec l'accord d'un professeur (co-promoteur) de l'ULB et d'un professeur (promoteur) de leur université d'origine.


Attention
les étudiants ne recevront l'accord d'accueil à la Faculté que s'ils ont au préalable l'accord d'un promoteur et d'un co-promoteur quant au sujet de leur mémoire (stage ou projet).
 
Langue

Les cours sont donnés soit en français soit en anglais. Les étudiants sont donc censés connaître suffisamment la langue pour pouvoir suivre les cours. Des cours de français, à l’attention des étudiants étrangers, sont organisés par le Service de Mobilité Etudiante pour en savoir plus ...). Les conditions d’accès à ces cours sont disponibles auprès de ce Service.

Notes obtenues aux examens

Les notes obtenues aux épreuves d'examen portant sur les matières suivies à l'ULB sont transmises à l'université d'origine et intégrées dans le curriculum de l'étudiant.

Renseignements généraux
  • L'ensemble des modalités administratives est présenté sur la page web du Service de Mobilité Etudiante : cette page donne également accès à une brochure d'information générale voir la page web ...).

  • Le plan des campus de l'université est également publié sur le web voir le plan ... ).

Renseignements académiques
Mme Rose-Marie BRYNAERT
email :
adresse mail