Les relations internationales de l'ULB
version françaiseversion françaisenext pagenext pageprintprintsendsendmarkmark

Privileged Partners

The academic authorities have appointed a limited number of foreign institutions as “privileged partners ”. This choice has been based on the one hand on the number and quality of scientific and teaching relations with these institutions, and on the other hand on the ULB’s international strategic orientations .

In practical terms, these are agreements between ULB and a partner university, whereby the two institutions set up special links that let them develop joint projects in teaching and research, and increase exchanges of students, lecturers and researchers.

The choice of partners is made based on the influence and links between the institutions, as well as on the University’s international policy.

At the practical level

Within the framework of the “Commission de Classements des Crédtits Internationaux (CCCI)”, the ULB allocates funds for international activities jointly organised with foreign universities.
Applications for funding involving a privileged partner will be given priority (in accordance with the faculty ranking of the applications concerned).

  • “Incoming” international chairs: A professor from a partner university is invited by the ULB for a stay of one month. This professor takes part in research and/or teaching activities at the ULB. The ULB covers the cost of travel and accommodation, and in addition provides a grant of € 2,000. As the visit is relatively short, the beneficiary usually retains their salary from their home university. Chaires IN

  • Short term stays (2 to 6 month) within the framework of a thesis or co-supervised thesis for ULB PhD candidates. Short stay's credits as part of a Ph.D.

  • Short stays (1-2 weeks) by ULB academic staff/researchers at partner universities, within the framework of joint research and/or teaching projects. Seed funding

ULB’s privileged partners are currently :

The University of California, Berkeley (USA)

The University of Oxford

The University of Cambridge

The University of British Columbia (Vancouver)

L’Université de Montréal (Canada)

Fudan University (Shanghai)

Waseda University (Tokyo)

Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris VI

BeiHang University

Universidade de Sao Paulo

Université de Lausanne

Université de Genève